D Flat Scale on Saxophone lesson. Step by step guide by Saxophone teacher

D flat Major Scale on Saxophone

Written by Greger Hillman, Saxophone teacher and music educator

I'd say that learning the D♭ flat Major Scale on Saxophone can be a bit challenging if you are a beginner student. It has to do with the fingering combinations which will take some extra practice to get used to.

The D flat major scale has five flats (♭) which are B♭, E♭, A♭, D♭, and G♭. So it's a bit more complex to play than the the basic Major Scales like C, G and F Major scale on the saxophone.

As a matter of fact, if you're just starting on the sax I recommend that you start with learning the G Major Scale and F major Scale as they moves through the middle range of your sax which is easier to play as a beginner.

Please note that C♯ Major Scale use the exact same notes on saxophone. The only difference is the naming convention for Sharp (♯)Major Scales compared to Flat(♭) Major Scales.

That being said, learning the D flat major Scale will force you to focus on your technique which will make you a better sax player.

Playing the D flat Major Scale on Saxophone

The D flat Major Scale can be played over two octaves on the Saxophone. From low D♭ to middle D♭ (1st octave) and from middle D♭ to high D♭ (2nd octave).

Here's the D flat major scale in the 1st octave. A good starting point for learning the D flat Major Scale on your sax and as you can see in the image you have the note names labeled above each note.

Related resource: Saxophone Fingering Chart

Basic facts of the D flat major Scale

The notes in the D flat Major Scale are: D♭ – E♭ – F – G♭ – A♭ – B♭ – C – D♭

The intervals of the D flat Major Scale are: W – W – H – W – W – W – H

The letter W stands for Whole Step. Observing the piano keys, you can note that the interval between D♭ and E♭ is a Whole Step (W) as it spans the distance of two half steps.

The Letter H stands for Half Step. On the piano keys, instances of this are between the notes F and G♭ and the notes C and D♭ in the D flat Major Scale. These half step intervals don't have other notes in between, marking them as true half steps.

D flat major Scale intervals explained

When I teach my saxophone students Scales and Chords for saxophone I like to begin with showing them on the piano. Simply because it's visual and it makes more sense when you can see the intervals and notes on the piano keys.

D flat Major Scale illustration on piano keys with note names and intervals for an easy way to learn music theory.

Looking at the image above, you can see that the D flat Major Scale on Piano has five flats (♭) and uses both white and black keys. Those black keys represent the B♭, E♭, A♭, D♭, and G♭ notes.

Practicing D flat Major Scale on Saxophone

Begin practicing the D flat Major Scale by starting on the root (D♭) and moving through each note until the octave (D♭). This helps familiarize you with the fingerings and lets you become used to and absorb the sound of the Major Scale.

As you become familiar with the scale's sound, it'll become easier to transpose and play other Major Scales on your saxophone as well.

Basic D flat Major Scale patterns to practice

Ascending and Descending Scale Practice:

Begin with the D flat major scale in the first octave, ascend from the root note (low D♭) to the octave (middle D♭), and then descend back to the root.

Focus on playing with the correct embouchure and proper air support for each note, so that all the notes are clear and even. This can be a challenge as you're also focusing on the fingering for the D flat Scale.

I recommend that you practice the scale slowly as it helps you master the fingering. Over time, this builds “finger memory,” enabling you to play the D flat scale without pondering over the fingerings at all.

Scale Intervals:

Start on the root note (D♭) and skip to the third note (F), then return to the second note (E♭) and skip to the fourth note (G♭). Continue this “ladder” pattern until you reach the 9th note (the E♭) and land on the octave D♭ note.

The Scale interval pattern looks like this: D♭-F, E♭-G♭, F-A♭, G♭-B♭, A♭-C, B♭-D♭, C-E♭, D♭.

Arpeggio Practice:

Practicing the D flat Major Scale Arpeggio on your saxophone will help you go beyond the basic exercises where you play the scale up and down.

With Arpeggios it looks like this:

  • Start on the Tonic (Low D♭) » Play third (F), the fifth (A♭), and the octave (middle D♭).
  • The Arpeggio Sequence ascending is: D♭-F-A♭-D♭
  • The Arpeggio Sequence descending is: D♭-A♭-F-D♭

Practicing arpeggios helps to reinforce “the sound of the primary chord” (D flat Major) within the scale.

I like to introduce this exercise to my students when they've learned the D flat Major Scale really well as it adds another layer to the complexity. At the same time it helps you stretch both your fingerings and mind.

D flat Major Scale Triads

Moving beyond these exercises there's the Major Scale Triads which help you really stretch both your mind and fingering capabilities on your saxophone.

However, before going down the triads route I recommend that you focus on learning all 12 Major Scales on your Saxophone first as building a solid foundation for all Major keys makes you become att better sax player faster.

And the cool thing is that when you've learned the intervals of the Major Scale (W – W – H – W – W – W – H) you can transpose it to any Major key as they all follow the exact same pattern.

Next up:

Saxophone teacher online Greger Hillman

Written by Greger Hillman

Greger Hillman is a saxophone teacher with +36 years of experience playing saxophone. 

Popular resources: